Early Terror Years

“I could hear the breathing of the creature. It was just beyond the corner in the dark hallway. With every step it took I was able to hear the breathing get closer and closer. I was frozen in place and began to breathe heavily and deep. All I could think of was the way in which it would run at me as soon as it noticed me and lunge toward me before ripping me to shreds. I jumped up from my seat and went to turn on the light. There was nothing there, so my breathing calmed down.”

One early memory from my film-watching childhood is the film, An American Werewolf In London, late at night and in the garage by myself. I don’t remember how old I was exactly, but I watched the whole film through even though my mother had warned me against that idea. During the watching about half ways through the movie I remember how every sound I heard gave me an even eerier feeling. I was sitting on a couch with my back turned to the door to go outside. It was a hot night during the summer, so of course I had the door slightly open to have airflow. Any sound that started to bother me also began running my imagination wild.

That feeling you get when you start to imagine that which you are watching is going to come alive and jump at you from the corner of the room. That is the feeling that I always invite back in, or at least try to get in today’s media age. When you’re a kid almost anything unknown can be interesting and  mysterious just the same as frightening. What we imagine is behind every corner is not always there. It is these kinds of feelings and emotions that keep me watching.

