Gilluermo Del Toro | Museum Exhibit

Gilluermo Del Toro, a director, producer, screenwriter and novelist, has been a great influence to the horror genre among other genres in film. One of his first films I watched was Blade 2, immediately followed by one of his more imaginative film, Hellboy, which was continued on by a sequel, The Golden Army. At the time I wasn’t a follower of directors as much as I am now. However, after watching Pan’s Labyrinth, I immediately became enamored with the kinds of worlds and creatures his vision could help create. Once I became more familiar with the persons behind camera, not just those in front, I sought out any past works that I could find. The Devil’s Backbone, was what I found and it was an interesting look at hauntings of an orphanage. Looking to more recent projects of course we mention Pacific Rim, Crimson Peak and a television show, The Strain. These of course aren’t all of the projects he is currently working on, and there are some that he has started and left due to conflicting time schedules. Del Toro has been part of many projects that have definitely added a great deal of pieces and characters for us to enjoy and admire.

Where is all of this going, literally to a Hollywood, in other words his work is currently being shown at LACMA. This is quite the opportunity to see creatures from his past works. The exhibition is up from Aug 1 until November 27, 2016, at the Art of the Americas Building, Plaza Level.  From the excerpt on the museums website, LACMA, “Taking inspiration from del Toro’s extraordinary imagination, the exhibition reveals his creative process through his collection of paintings, drawings, maquettes, artifacts, and concept film art.” I know if I ever get the chance to be in the LA area I will take the opportunity to attend this showing. It is a must for any horror fan, we get to see the kinds of visions that make a Del Toro production.

